• Alex McKinnon Photography-0026
  • Alex McKinnon Photography-0313
  • 186A3448-LR
  • 186A3493-LR
  • 186A3536-LR
  • DSC 0038 - 2013-12-31 at 13-04-07-LR
  • 186A3584-LR
  • DSC 0681 - 2013-12-31 at 14-34-37-LR
  • 1 opt
  • 6 opt

Perth Dinghy Sailing Club and Mounts Bay Sailing Club hosted the Sabre State Championships last weekend (25th & 26th Nov).  26 boats entered the 6 Heat series.

Saturday Racing at PDSC was held in strong gusty winds.  Milder conditions prevailed on Sunday at MBSC.

Final results were:- Scott Olsen – Fremantle Sailing Club 1st  Tony Carr Perth Dinghy Sailing Club 2nd Clayton Erwin Perth Dinghy Sailing Club 3rd.

With a growing number of lady sailors in the fleet the Association awarded for the first time a Champion Lady Sailor trophy which was awarded to Julie Olsen (wife of Scott).  Julie finished 9th overall and had a well-deserved 2nd place in one of the heats.

Thank you to Boating Hardware for sponsoring the event and for thank you to all the volunteers for your support over the weekend.


24067924 1784675188211372 2665089779253795738 n


12 boats sailed in Heat 5 of the Sabre Opening Day Series at Royal Perth Yacht Club. 

Congrats to Tony Carr 1st, Gavin Davies 2nd, Ian James 3rd

Overall Results after Heat 5

On a cold blustery afternoon a good fleet of 12 Sabres greeted the starting line for MBSC’s Opening Day.  The wind abated just before the start. Clayton Erwin took the lead from the start with a handy margin at the first mark. Followed by Tony Carr, and Ed Bannerman.  On the last beat Clayton sailed mid-river hoping for the wind to hook around Pelican Point and Ed & Tony sailed lower to line up with the finishing line.  Then the unenviable happened, Clayton’s dream happened….a wind shift putting Clayton onto the layline to the finish buoy just in front of Ed & Tony.  Dave Meehan finished a credible fourth with no vang, which part company. 

Good to see Paul Cornwall from MYC, Kate Best from RPYC and Rob Howes all the way from Walpole competing.  Thank you to MBSC for hosting the Sabres.

1st Clayton Erwin - PDSC
2nd Ed Bannerman - MBSC
3rd Tony Carr - PDSC
4th Dave Meehan - SBYC

22221848 1734035773275314 1801483336689726856 n

22279605 1734129633265928 3445607742891507925 n

22282016 1734129803265911 6287539975142199187 n


Latest State News...


    From Barcelona to Black Rock: Luis Mata’s journey to Sabre sailing Read More

    WA Sabre States Results Read More
  • NSW/ACT  

    SSANSW State Titles 2020 Read More

    2020 State Championships Read More

    SA Sailing & Events Calendar Read More

    Notice of Race for Sabre Nationals 2015/16 Read More
  • 1

Facebook Feed