Sabre Sailing Association of SA Inc Notice of Race 2013–14 State Championships

1 Race program

Note:- Where two heats are scheduled the races will be back to back

Sunday 3 November 2013	Brighton & Seacliff Y C	Heats 1 & 2	1400hrs
Sunday 17 November 2013	Largs Bay Sailing Club	Heats 3 & 4	1400hrs
Saturday 23 November 2013	Adelaide Sailing Club	Resail(s)	1400hrs
Sunday 8 December 2013	Goolwa Regatta Y C	Heats 5 & 6	1400hrs
Sunday 2 February 2014	Somerton Yacht Club	Heats 7 & 8	1400hrs
Sunday 16 February 2014	Largs Bay Sailing Club	Resail(s)	1400hrs
Sunday 9 March 2014	Adelaide Sailing Club	Heats 9 & 10	1400hrs
Saturday 22 March 2014	Brighton & Seacliff Y C	Resail(s)	1400hrs

2. Eligibility

All competitors must be financial members of the Sabre Sailing Association of Australia Inc. Boats shall have a current grade A measurement certificate affixed. Sail(s), centreboard and rudder blade shall be measured and signed for the 2013/14 season prior to the date of the first heat. Competitors shall use only one (1) boat. Competitors may use two (2) sails for the series provided both sails have been measured and signed prior to the date of the first heat (3/11/2013).

3. Nomination

Nomination for the series shall be made by 28/10/2013 by completing the Entry Form and forwarding it, together with the entry fee to the Treasurer, Rob Gale, 243 O'Sullivan Beach Rd, Morphett Vale SA 5162. The entry fee is set at \$20.00 for all categories. A late entry fee of \$10 will apply to entries received after 28/10/2013 and before 1/11/2013. NOTE:- NO ENTRIES WILL BE ACCEPTED AFTER 1/11/2013. Competitors will be required to lodge club race nomination slips prior to each heat and pay the relevant safety fee.

4. Rules & Sailing Instructions

The regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing and the rules of the Sabre Sailing Association of Australia except where varied by the Sailing Instructions and this Notice of Race. The Sailing Instructions shall be the YSA standard Sailing Instructions for Class Boat events and programmed Regattas. The event will be a category A event in accordance with appendix G G3.1

5. Scoring

The Series provides for 10 races. Five (5) races are required to be completed to constitute a series. If less than seven (7) races are completed all races shall count. When seven (7) or eight

(8) races have been completed a boats series score will be the total of her race score excluding her worst two scores. When nine (9) or ten (10) races have been completed a boats series score will be the total of her race score excluding her worst three scores. Points will be allocated and ties resolved in accordance with the Low Point Scoring System (ISAF Appendix A2).

Handicaps will be allocated by the Sabre Sailing Association of SA Inc. Handicaps will be adjusted on the results of each Heat.

6. General

The South Australian Association recommends that, when the wind strength on the course area is constantly in excess of 22 knots prior to the start of a race, no race for the Sabre Class should be started. However, the decision to start a race will be at the sole discretion of the Race Officer, who should take into account the above recommendation and any other relevant factors when making a decision to start a race. The Race Officer may consult with the Sabre Association Committee members prior to making any decision to race or not to race. Members may enter individual Races of the Series. Such races will not count as part of the Series. A safety fee will be payable to the club on that day.

7. Liability

Attention is drawn to the Fundamental Rule 4 which states:- "A boat is solely responsible for deciding whether to sail or not to *start* or continue *racing*."

8. Trophies

Trophies will be awarded to 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the Open and Handicap Categories and in all of the Divisions where more than 4 entries are received. If less than four entries are received in any Category or Division a trophy for 1st place only will be awarded.

To be eligible for a trophy the skipper must have ranked as a starter in at least five heats.

Each skipper will be eligible to win one (1) trophy only.

9. Time Limit

The time limit will be 90 minutes when races are held back to back (with a race target time of 60 minutes) or the designated time limit of the host club for a single race.